The structure of the Office

The structure of the Office of the State Comptroller and Ombudsman

The State Comptroller and Ombudsman carries out his duties and exercises his powers with the help of his staff. He stands at the head of his Office and subordinate to him is the Director-General.

The professional units within the Office are divided into two branches - one dealing with the State Audit and the other with the work of the Public Complaints Commission.

The State Audit Branch comprises of five Divisions, each of which is responsible for auditing a different area of public administration: (1) the Economic Departments Division; (2) the Government Ministries and Institutions Division; (3) the Social Welfare Division; (4) the Defense Establishment Division; (5) the Local Government Division.

The Public Complaints Commission Branch is responsible for investigating public complaints filed with the State Comptroller in his capacity as Ombudsman. It is headed by a director who is appointed by the Knesset State Audit Committee in accordance with the State Comptroller's recommendation. The Commission is divided into nine Departments which in accordance with the Law are responsible for receiving, processing and investigating the complaints. 

In addition to the Audit and Public Complaints Commission Branches, the Office has specialist units, including the Legal Advice Unit, the Administration and Human Resources Division, the Economic and Engineering Advisors Division, the Planning, Monitoring and Control Department, the Information Systems Department, the Department of Training and Information Center, as well as the Editorial Unit.

The State Comptroller and Director-General are based at the Jerusalem Head Office. The State Comptroller's Office also maintains two regional bureaus, one in Tel-Aviv and the other in Haifa. In addition to this, the Public Complaints Commission has bureaus in Lod, Beersheba and Upper Nazareth. 

The hiring, salary, salary terms of service and dismissal of those employed by the Office of the State Comptroller and Ombudsman are determined independently by the Comptroller himself.